I want to be home and noodling.

Oh how I would love to be home right now, noodling away now that the Christmas knitting is mostly done and I have a few pre-made meals sitting in my fridge.

I continue to be surprised at how difficult it is to maintain the hand independence on the harp that is so trivial to me on the piano, to the point where I don’t even think about it there anymore. I have to hear piano newbies talk about how difficult it is before I can even remember that there must have been a time for me when that was challenging. At the keyboard, I just move my hands however they need to be moved.

On the harp though … oh, yes. It’s hard, especially due to the strange half-off timing that the harp and piano have, relative to one another. On the piano, the steps are as follows:

  1. Press to get noise.
  2. Release to stop.

Not so on the harp:

  1. Press to prepare noise.
  2. Release to get.

Basically, on the piano, you don’t reach for a key until you need it. Wait that long on a harp, and it’s too late. That little half-off shift in process is juuuuuust close enough to the piano to make me want to wait until I need a sound before reaching for the string, and juuuuuust enough off from it to completely muck things up.

So, sum total lessons learned so far:

  1. Place fingers purposefully to avoid buzzing.
  2. Flipper hands.
  3. Thumb and forefinger apart!
  4. Place before you need the note.
Leave a Reply

