“The Angels and the Shepherds” from Sylvia Woods 50 Carols

There’s one annoying part where it’s hard not to buzz, and a few places where she’s requested a 4th finger where I can reach almost trivially with 3 or even 2, but I’m using the 4th, trusting that she’s required it to force people to get used to using the nasty little thing.

It’s a lot of fun. I’ll be letting this one soak in for a bit, then go back and make sure that “Vaga Luna” hasn’t unravelled too badly since starting on a new piece, then make sure that both are in good fettle before moving onto the next carol.

I also want to make sure that I keep track of the various little lessons learned from each, so that I’m not reinventing the wheel every time I have a new piece to work on.

Leave a Reply

