“In the Bleak Midwinter” and “Tu scendi dalle stelle”

Two others I’d like to try, especially the latter:

In the Bleak Midwinter: I’m curious as to whether or not the C# lever flip that permits a resolution into D minor near the end is even possible, but it’s a pretty little twist that I got from watching a video of Tine Thing Helseth playing it, and I’d like to try it. (This PDF has occasional stem oddities in it, but these are present to indicate where you might like to play a note with the other hand as opposed to the one you might think you should use.)

Tu scendi dalle stelle: I’d like to move this up an octave to avoid buzzing, but … I like it where it is. It’s a fairly simple left hand after all, and I can play it without buzzing if I’m just playing the left hand, so I don’t think there’s anything particularly buzzy about it. It’s just a matter of not being able to play it well enough quite yet. I’ll stick with it as it is.

And just a little tidbit for you to enjoy here … My mom says she still remembers her grandmother singing this (born in 1868 in Atessa in Chieti, Abruzzi). The zampogna is associated with shepherds in Italy, so it fits for Christmas songs.

And here’s a couple of other good ones to lift from a Christmas concert by the Associazione Culturale Zampogne di Abruzzo. ๐Ÿ™‚ And I’m liking seeing a lady piper very much. ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

