Wow, I can actually play scales.

Two-octave ascending and descending. I need to go slow, and do the hands separately before putting them together, but I can do it — hands-together. I never thought I would be able to do that and hence be a “real” harpist.

And the difference it makes to playing even short pieces is amazing. I always knew that scales mattered a lot on every instrument, but this is the first time I’ve seen it illustrated so bluntly at a time when I was enough of an adult to really appreciate it. “Vaga luna” went from slow and very clumsy feeling to a lot faster and looser just from doing the scales. And now that I don’t have to work so hard to focus on my hands, I can focus on the pedal change, and that’s improved.

I’m still a half-inch off the ground, but I feel like I might be a harpist someday. And I can’t believe I finally found a comfortable way to hold my left hand. I still have to remember to relax and keep my right elbow up, and wrap my thumbs as much as I can, but I can do it. Amazing.

Leave a Reply

